Oregon Measure 11 Offenses Defense Attorney — Portland

Working Hard to Defend the Freedom and Futures of Clients Throughout the Portland Area

The state of Oregon currently has a law that requires the court to impose a minimum sentence for certain crimes. These Measure 11 offenses are generally serious in nature, but those who are convicted of one of these crimes face lengthy sentences that severely limit their futures. Don’t let an over-eager prosecutor deny you your freedom—contact Dean Law Group P.C. to work with a reliable and effective criminal defense attorney who will work tirelessly to protect your rights and your future.

Understanding Measure 11

In 1994, a ballot initiative called Measure 11 was put forward that proposed minimum mandatory sentences for certain serious crimes. It went into effect on April 1, 1995, and it was reaffirmed by voters in the year 2000. The law requires the court to impose a minimum sentence with no possibility for any reduction in sentencing. This means that, even if you would qualify to be released early for good behavior, the law forbids it. Examples of Measure 11 offenses and their mandatory minimum sentences are as follows:

  • Aggravated Murder: 30 years
  • Murder: 25 years
  • Manslaughter I: 10 years
  • Compelling Prostitution: 5 years, 10 months

A comprehensive list of all Oregon Measure 11 offenses can be found here.

Here to Serve You

Oregon Measure 11 charges carry particularly lengthy sentences, and they often invite overzealous district attorneys to force long and harsh sentences on such defendants. If you have been accused of a Measure 11 crime, you need a knowledgeable and dedicated criminal defense attorney by your side to help you successfully resolve your case. Maximizing the potential for a positive outcome often means your attorney must strive to outwork the prosecution. Dean Law Group P.C. has significant experience defending clients from Measure 11 charges. Call our office for a free and confidential initial consultation, and we will get to work defending your freedom and your future.

Get Started

Contact us today if you have a potential Oregon Measure 11 Offenses case.

If you or someone you love has been charged with an Oregon Measure 11 Offense in the greater Portland area, call Dean Law Group P.C. at (503) 546-3178 to get started with a skilled and effective criminal defense attorney.